At the start of summer term I’m moving ship from the shared dorm I have right now to a super tiny single in a different building on campus. I’ve been totally addicted to the awesome design communities of Apartment Therapy and Design*Sponge recently, and consequently I’ve been planning out every last detail of how I’m going to use that little personal space.

The dorms are 14′x7′ (I said it was tiny!) and so space will be at a premium. I’m hoping to be able to fit in a little kitchen– mini fridge, toaster oven, two-burner hotplate– as well as a little folding table and chairs, a desk, a bed, some shelves…. How would this all fit? I drew a floor plan.

room floorplan

Crappy scan, sorry. Anyway the things fit, but just barely; the dimensions are sort of like a travel-trailer.

For a loft bed I found this listed on IKEA’s website:

It’s the TROMSO loft bed, and it is available with a desk fitted under it. The frame+desk= roughly $300, and a matress form IKEA is around $80

I also really liked the BOLLO folding table from IKEA

(Image at right) It’s dimensions are 23″x23″x28″, so it’s just about right.

For a color scheme I was really inspired by this post over on Apartment Therapy, talking about how well robin’s egg blue opens up a small space. I love the idea of pairing light blues with browns, reds and whites for this area! Inspirations:

This print from CrashingWave on Deviantart.

This coral print caneback chair from SouthernFlair on Etsy.

This vintage fabric from fleaParlor on Etsy.

And this warning sign from tippleandsnack on Etsy.

I also really love the Decor it Yourself section of the ThreadBanger website. Meg’s design ideas are so fresh and cute!

