I have an art opening at a gallery tomorrow night, and I need to bring a nibble. Saw a recipe for a lovely saffron white-chocolate truffle over at Anne’s Food (http://annesfood.blogspot.com/2008/05/saffron-white-chocolate-truffles.html) Definitely worth a look.

Since she was so creative with her truffles flavorings, I decided I could be too. I grew up in the desert, and was raised on Mexican candy and hot chocolate. For this fact, sweet doesn’t taste good to me, unless there’s a bitter, a sour, a salty, and/or a spicy flavor along with it. So here’s my take on the classic dark chocolate truffle. (Don’t be intimidated by the chili powder– it’s enough that it adds a little bite, but not so much that it overpowers the other flavors.)

:Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 cups dark chocolate chips
  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1 tablespoon (trust me) fine ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon (trust me) fine ground red chili pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

:dusting powder ingredients:

  • 1/8 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • a dash of salt

Melt chocolate chips in a double boiler. Add the cream bit by bit, combining thoroughly after each addition. Add spices, including salt, and combine. Chill for at least an hour, until the chocolate has a doughy consistency. roll into balls. In a small bowl, combine dusting powder ingredients. Roll each ball in the powder to cover completely. Store in the refrigerator for up to three days. (Doubt they’ll last that long)

Sorry all of the recipes I put up here are so decadent… I’ll try for something a little less cholesterol-laden next time.

