I have realized how much wine I use in my cooking. It just tastes so good with everything…… What am I going to do when I move out, and have no access to any sort of cooking alcohol for three whole years?

Here’s another dessert, because I love making dessert.

:Ingredients:

  • 4 pears, cored
  • 1 1/2 cups understated, inexpensive red wine– I used Charles Shaw Merlot
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 8 cloves (or 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves)
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon (or 1 stick)
  • The zest from 1 orange

Combine everything but the pears in a small saucepan over low heat, whisking until the honey is thoroughly dissolved. Place pears in pan and cover. Simmer for 20 minutes over med.-low heat.  Allow to cool before adding the vanilla cream.

:Ingredients for cream:

  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1/8 cup refined sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon bourbon vanilla

Beat all ingredients until cream forms stiff peaks.

Place pears on individual dishes and top with cream, then drizzle a small amount of the reduced wine sauce from the bottom of the poaching pan over the top.

Serve with gusto.

