Sooo…. I don’t post a whole lot of vegetarian or vegan options up here.

I know that ninety-nine out of one hundred vegetarians or vegans are perfectly nice, normal people, other than the fact that they don’t find gnawing on the flesh of other animals very appealing. I also have a large, inexplicable vegetarian-phobia. Please don’t get mad at me– but please believe me, if you’d had a tall blond girl loudly proclaiming the burning evil of hurting poor, defenseless critters while you’re trying to enjoy your cold chicken, you’d shudder when you heard the words “Sorry, I don’t eat meat”, too.* Social trauma isn’t something I quickly forget. And yes, I am now afraid of elegant, willowy blond vegans.

Even so, my inner psychiatrist has decided that the only way to escape this fear is to work through it. So, I’ve tried my hand at a little vegan and vegetarian cookery. Enjoy, kiddos, I’m off to maul a wildebeest.

*Nice run-on sentance, no?

:Ingredients:

  • 1 cup coconut milk, with cream (you can replace with an equal part rice or soy milk, but it won’t be as tasty)
  • .25 cup honey
  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 2 cups fresh or frozen strawberries
  • 1 cup fresh or frozen blueberries
  • .5 cup fresh or frozen raspberries
  • 2 cups ice

Put berries into blender, plusing until they come together. Add honey and coconut milk, blend to combine. Add bananas, one at a time, pushing down gently with a wooden spoon if they refuse to blend. Finally, just before serving, add ice and blend only until the ice is chipped in consistancy. Any more and the ice will melt, watering down the smoothie. Spike with any or all of your favorite health substances: bee pollen, wheat grass, powdered rice bran, vitamin c, vodka…. and serve in a tall glass.

Makes a damn good breakfast.

(I’m going to try and be a good blogger from now on, set up a posting schedule and all that. Don’t know if anyone cares, but it’ll bring order to my horrendously chaotic life.)

Ciao bella.

