I am being perfectly frank when I say that there is nothing I don’t like about Greek food. I love the garlic, the lemon, the cumin, the mint, the onions, the olives, the fish, the eggplant– wait, actually I don’t like the eggplant. Scratch that. There’s almost nothing I don’t like about Greek food.

When I read this wonderful (eggplant free) recipe for soutzoukakia smyrneika by Peter M. on his blog Kalofagas I just had to try it out. So, last night, I thawed up some sausage and made it for dinner, along with a nice big Greek salad and some pilaf. The family loved it. I loved it. Definitely going in my recipe file.

So, what have I got to offer? It can’t compete with this wonderful– if impossible to pronounce– entree, but here’s my recipe for Grecian salad. American style.

:Ingredients:

  • .33 cup mayonnaise
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 tsp anchovy paste
  • 1 sprig of mint, finely minced
  • 2 large leaves basil, finely minced
  • 1 clove raw garlic, finely minced (or more, if desired)

Combine all ingredients in the order that they are listed. Either use immediately or store in a sealed container in the refridgerator for up to three days. Pour over Greek salad, below.

.

.

.

:Salad Ingredients:

  • 4 leaves of red leaf lettuce, torn into bite-sized pieces
  • 4 leaves of romaine lettuce, torn into bite-sized pieces
  • .25 cup feta cheese
  • .5 cup calamata olives
  • 2 tomatoes, sliced
  • 4 inches of cucumber, sliced
  • .25 red onion, diced
  • 1 cup crumbled pita chips (optional)

Toss together in a bowl and dress with Greek dressing (above).

Though it may not be traditional, it’s damn tasty! Enjoy.

{Art graphic at top is belonging to me}

