(Don’t you love our classy cutlery?)

A recipe at long last! Actually, I went on a cooking binge this weekend and have several recipes to bequeathe unto y’all. This one here I made for Sunday night dinner. My roommate and I had gone to the Farmers Market (just a few blocks from our dorm! Yay!) and I bought some lovely wild-caught CoHo Salmon. That was the last week they were selling it… But it was so tasty!

Anywho, here’s my recipe for Basil Parmesan Encrusted Salmon.

:Ingredients:

  • 1 lb fresh salmon
  • 1 cup bread crumbs (I’ve said this before but will say it again for those who are just joining us; crushed gluten-free pretzels make very good bread crumbs)
  • .5 cup shredded Parmesan cheese
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • .5 tsp salt
  • five large basil leaves, minced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced very fine

Combine breadcrumbs with seasoning. Rub thoroughly into salmon to create a complete crust over the meat. Allow to rest, at least five minutes. Pan fry over medium heat until both sides are crispy and brown. (About 2-5 minutes per side, depending on thickness of salmon, your preference for doneness, etc. Bread crumbs do help to keep the fish moist, but overcooking is still not encouraged.)

Enjoy with fresh salad, golden fried potatoes, and good company.

