I’m sorry I’ve been such a poop about writing here. I’ve just been so busy that all I’ve wanted to do in my off-time is veg out and watch episodes of Good Eats online….

I’m going to try out choux pastry in my roommate’s illegal toaster oven. (Toaster ovens are against dorm rules. We call him Bob and hide him whenever the RA’s come by.) I’ll try to get some easy-to-make cooking stuffs up on here to keep youse connected with my collegiate headspace. Y’know.

.

.

.

An Excerpt from Of Pairs by Josephine Jacobson

The mockingbirds, that pair, arrive,
one, and the other; glossily perch,
respond, respond, branch to branch.
One stops, and flies. The other flies.
Arrives, dips, in a blur of wings,
lights, is joined. Sings. Sings.

Actually, there are birds galore:
bowlegged blackbirds brassy as crows;
elegant ibises with inelegant cows;
hummingbirds’ stutter on air;
tilted over the sea, a man-of-war
in a long arc without a feather’s stir.

((LoveloveLOVE this– it really captures my raggle-taggle life right now. I have no pairs…))

