Cheddar Tomato Risotto

I got out of my history class today and said to myself “Well, I’m going to make risotto!” And so I did. Simple as that.

Risotto is a fine food for a rainy day.

(Sorry I’ve been flaky about posting. Midterms suck.)

:Ingredients:

  • 3 tbsp butter
  • .5 cup finely diced carrots
  • .5 cup finely diced celery
  • .5 cup finely diced onion
  • 2 tbsp tomato paste
  • 3 cups plus 1 cup water
  • 2 tsp salt
  • a few grinds fresh black pepper
  • 1 cup rice
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

Melt one of the tablespoons of butter in a large pan. Add onion, celery, and carrot and cook over medium low heat until the celery is transparent. Add three cups of water, the tomato paste, and the spices, stirring to thoroughly combine. Allow mixture to simmer until reduced by a third. Add rice, stirring occasionally. Once you start to see the bottom of the pan when you stir, stir constantly from that point on. If the risotto starts to stick to the pan too much, add a splash of water. Keep stirring until it takes on a creamy, thick consistancy and the rice is thoroughly cooked. Add the remaining two tablespoons of butter and the cheddar cheese, and stir to combine.

Serve as a side dish, or as a main course. I had mine with a fresh pear, and called it lunch.

